String Orchestra

Duration: 12'

The first version of Synched was mostly aleatoric; musicians were sent music in real-time via wi-fi to personal laptops that displayed their music. The tempo, dynamics, and articulation of their music was altered while the musicians performed. Because of this controlled improvisation the piece would be different at every performance.

I decided to take elements from the octet and notate it in a fixed version for string orchestra. Synched is structured on loops—four or eight bar phrases that repeat. Each loop is a building block that is never altered but instead is used in different combinations. Each instrument has its own unique set of loops that occasionally overlap. By limiting the musical material I am able to play with rhythm, syncopation, register, and stereophonic effects throughout the piece.



2017 - 2018

Duration: 22'

Violin, Violoncello, Piano, and Electric Bass

Superstitions was commissioned by the Nashville Ballet. It is a piece in four movements that makes use of acoustic instruments and electronics. This is my favorite work to date, and I have made many arrangements for duos and trios.